Welcome

Welcome to the EMR Network’s new Interactive Community. A place to share information, ideas and resources.

Exposure to electromagnetic fields (EMF) has been linked to a variety of adverse health outcomes.The health endpoints that have been reported to be associated with ELF and/or RF include childhood leukemia, adult brain tumors, childhood brain tumors, genotoxic effects (DNA damage and micronucleation), neurological effects and neurodegenerative disease, immune system disregulation, allergic and inflammatory responses, breast cancer in men and women, miscarriage and some cardiovascular effects.

Effects are not specifically segregated for ELF or RF, since many overlapping exposures occur in daily life; and because this is an artificial division based on frequencies as defined in physics that has little bearing on the biological effects. Both ELF and RF, for example have been shown to cause cells to generate stress proteins, a universal sign of distress in plant, animal and human cells.

BioInitiative Report:

A Rationale for a Biologically-based Public Exposure Standard for Electromagnetic Fields (ELF and RF)

September 18, 2007

http://www.bioinitiative.org/report/index.htm

22 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. Libby Kelley Says:

    I am very glad to see the EMR Network renergized, just in time to get the word out about the wireless industry’s petition to the FCC to gain more preemptory authority in the siting of wireless transmitters in the U.S. Citizens who are concerned about involuntary. chronic exposure to low intensity signals from wireless transmitters need to take action by letting the FCC know you oppose this petition. NOTE: The deadline for submitting comments to FCC was just extended until September 29, 2008. For more informaiton about electromagnetic radiation science and the call for precaution and safer exposure guidelines, I also refer you to the website for the International Commission for Electromagnetic Safety (ICEMS – http://www.icems.eu.) ICEMS issued a new scientific resultion in June 2008, making an urgent call for more precaution until biologically based standards are in place in “The Venice Resolution.” As citizens and as consumers, I urge you to contact your federal, state and local public officials to advise them of this petition and to call for action to protect our rights and our health from exposure to electromagnetic radiation.

    Elizabeth Kelley
    Advisor, EMR Network – USA

  2. Sandi Maurer Says:

    September 16, 2008

    Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary
    Office of Secretary
    Federal Communications Commission
    445 12th Street, S.W.
    Washington D.C., 20554

    RE; WT DOCKET NO. 08-165

    PUBLIC COMMENT ON PETITION BY CTIA-THE WIRELESS ASSOCIATION FOR DECLARATORY RULING TO CLARIFY PROVISIONS OF SECTION 332 (C)(7)(B) TO ENSURE TIMELY SITING REVIEW AND TO PREEMPT UNDER SECTION 253 STATE AND LOCAL ORDINANCES THAT CLASSIFY ALL WIRELESS SITING PROPOSALS AS REQUIRING VARIANCE

    September 29, 2008 (extended) Comment Due Date
    October 14, 2008 (extended) Reply Due date

    Dear Ms. Dortch,

    Please deny the CTIA’s request for time restrictions on the processing of cell tower applications. Communities need time to review these applications to determine whether or not they are appropriately sited. There are very important considerations, such as tower height, visual impacts, proximity to vulnerable groups such as children’s schools as well as property rights that need careful evaluation. In addition many studies now show health effects from cell tower radiation. See Bioinitiative Report: http://www.bioinitiative.org . The CTIA’s request demonstrates there is growing public health concern by attempting to force local communities to install a tower without adequate time to review or receive public input. The European Parliament recently adopted text recognizing the Bioinitiative Report and calling for stricter safety standards for EMR exposure from wireless devices such as cell towers. If the FCC approves the CTIA’s request they will be taking away basic human and American rights by imposing these deadlines. What we need are new biology based safety standards for EMR exposure, not application deadlines.

    Thank You,
    Sandi Maurer
    200 Frankel Lane
    Sebastopol California, 95472

  3. gary Says:

    IMPORTANT! PLEASE RESPOND! We are exposed to intermittent high frequency noise, on a consistent bases, (day’s on-day’s off,noise). My wife has already had cancer(i believe it was a major contributing factor), The irritability, sleep disturbance,brain fog, it produces is obvious . Cause and effect response in our personalities, from this exposure is undeniable! Can you recommend a PC program, or device (that is realistically,affordable), to gauge and locate emission point/strength. I’ve been quoted prices in thousands of dollars for pc program, I’ve purchased two(2) small, hand-held device that half-worked. they showed some-sort of immersion. But are not specific enough. Is there a service, like mold remediation, once believed to be benign,now we know better, that will perform this service for me, in my local 33321 zip code. Tamarac,Florida. URGENT! before we are diagnosed with brain tumors, etc. Sincerely, Gary

    • JoAnn Says:

      Gary, Move away from Rock Island Rd. Minimum of a mile away

    • sandaura Says:

      Google Sandaura and you will find two youtube’s; click on more info to read our horror story and you will also hear what we are all living with 24/7. This is microwave pulsing causing acoustic trauma to all living things.

      Dr Robert O. Becker, M.D.
      twice nominated for Nobel Prize of this research.

      “I have no doubt in my mind that at the present time, the greatest
      polluting element in the earth’s environment is the proliferation of
      electromagnetic fields.

      I consider that to be far greater on a global scale, than warming, and
      the increase in chemical elements in the environment.”

  4. Ada Says:

    Try going to http://www.antennasearch.com to locate any towers and antennas that are within 4 miles of your home. Then follow the call signs to the FCC call sign search to see when any changes were made to the antennas identified. I too hear radio frequency emissions from a tower near my home that is owned by a local utility. My community is like a dead zone. No birds, small mammals etc. I am struggling too to get some help with this.
    Ada

  5. Jill Says:

    Our school district is trying to locate a wireless antenna tree right next to our elementary school’s playing fields. I am looking for as much assistance to try and block this action. Any information or suggestions would be appreciated. We have a community meeting next wednesday 1/20. Thank you.

  6. emrnetwork Says:

    I encourage people to respond to Jill with as much information as you have, especially information that has helped your schools avoid cell towers and antennas. I will be sending information as well.
    Virginia Hines
    The EMRNetwork
    http://www.emrnetwork.org

  7. Michael Radmore Says:

    howdy there, just wished to mention thankyou for this post, it let me become aware of one thing I didnt given much thought to it beforehand.

  8. Karen Ricks Says:

    Please go to http://www.expelcelltowers.org.

    They won their case to stop cell towers at/on/near schools and have great info on their website that they want used by anyone to help stop cell tower sites at schools, and anywhere else for that matter.

    I am fighting one sited at only 50 ft. from my backyard. Warning to anyone thinking about moving to Harris County, TX (Houston and vicinity). There are no zoning laws for private property in the unincorporated areas of the county. So that nice peaceful 2 acres you built your dream house on can end up with a 200 ft. cell tower, or a base station & cell tower and even worse an antenna as the focal point in your backyard because the property owner next to you made a deal with a tower company. Their deals are very lucrative!!

    They gave me the name of the EMF/EMR expert, Susan Clarke, who they used to guide them through the entire process, and you will need one, that enabled them to avoid all the loopholes, errors in wordage used on any document and out of the mouths of well intentioned participants in the fight.

    Any fight to stop a cell tower is taking money out of someone’s pockets and can send any one or any entity, with a control problem, to the moon. You know, same scenarios that start wars! =o) The fights are very hard but don’t let that stop you, they have to be fought if we want to see change.

    Stand strong, the voice of the people does still matter.

    • Raymond Barglow Says:

      Hello Karen,

      Thanks for your concern about cell phone tower radiation.

      I live in Berkeley and write about cell phone tower dangers. I am trying to contact Susan Clarke. Do you have any contact information for her?

      Thanks,

      Raymond Barglow
      ph 510 486 1050

  9. Mike Says:

    I have been suffering since late July 2008, when an odd vibration jolted me out of my sleep, originally I thought it was a county water pipe transmitting a vibration from the pumps. That occurred off and on until late December 2008 when a strange low frequency sound from the northeast kept me awake, the sound kept coming from the same direction, so I assumed it was some sort of factory. But in August of 2009, the sound’s source changed direction, it was now originating from the South. Then it started changing source direction almost every night. Early one morning I found one of the sources, a cell tower over 2 miles away, the sound was coming from the top of the tower!! Since then I have found a total of 3 different towers producing this weird low frequency sound, there are certainly many more around me, but I haven’t verified all the directions this awful sound is coming from. One thing I am absolutely sure of, is that these cell towers have destroyed my life, I cannot function with this weird sound occurring all day/night long! I also feel a weird electrical feeling or jabs of pain, like a needle poke, in the air at times, very disconcerting. The worst is when the low frequency sound hammers my eardrums, just like an earache, I CANNOT block any of these sounds with earplugs, over the ear ear protection, or both! It IS definitely cell towers producing this torturous low frequency sound, even if no one else around me can hear it. It would make a good torture technique for terrorists, too, because it is “Hell on Earth”.

    • Mike Says:

      By the way, I DO believe that it is the 3G signal, these towers aren’t new, but suddenly the signals changed, I live in Brandon, FL. There was a Dutch study warning of 3G health risks in 2002/03, naturally the industry ignores any data that doesn’t fit their paradigm. Instead of making sure their technology is safe, they assume it is, because there is money to be raked in.

      • James Says:

        I started feeling that “low frequency” brain-buzzing sound starting about 2-3 years ago. I lived near a cell phone tower and at first didn’t notice anything until my sensitivity increased due to an onset of peripheral neuropathy in my feet. I ended-up moving to my parent’s house…but could not escape the cell phone towers (and wi-fi) signals. Almost like clockwork, I feel a consistent tone from 3-5am in the morning disturbing my sleep. My insomnia has affected my job performance and normal activities. I can’t understand why others can’t feel the same sound; but they do have symptoms associated with signals. I pray that I do not have a tumor or brain damage – at least my MRI’s do not reveal anything. No one believes my story (especially doctors who aren’t open-minded) but I hope that cell phone company greed and dishonesty will be discovered as these problems accumulate in clusters around cities (like Rochester, NY). I really cannot take this subtle torture any longer!

      • sandaura Says:

        Please contact me at globalrfrdefenseteam@verizon.net

  10. Karen Ricks Says:

    Thanks so much for your story. I will use it in my, What Cell Tower Owners Don’t Want You To Know, section of our presentation. You also sparked a new idea for me, I need to add sound bytes!

    I hate that you have been living with this and that it’s the affected that have the burden and expense of relocating to get away from the noise. The tower/antenna owners should be held responsible to foot that bill.

    If I come across any info in my research about this problem I’ll let you know.

  11. Jewels Says:

    How do I get a gauss meter or find someone to come check the EMF from the towers near my home?

  12. Karen Ricks Says:

    Jewels,

    Go to http://lessemf.com

    Great site for various meters and a good price range to meet anyone’s budget restrictions. He also has a good library of books on the subject which you can order from the site.

  13. sandaura Says:

    Please contact us if you are hearing the noise. We have been filing complaints with our town police every night since 2007. The only way we will have any power is to commit to filing noise complaints with your
    town, the utilities and your state regulatory agencies. The Dept of public health, dept of environmental protection, dept of telecommunication,
    and the dept of public utilities have all ignored the law regarding noise pollution and has failed to follow protocol for testing of pure tones. They have admitted to this yet we have been ignored since we filed the initial noise complaints and power quality complaints in 2007.

    We see by the comments that there are many who hear this insidious noise.

    We have identified this noise in several locations in other states. As long as the regulatory agencies keep us isolated they will not act. This is their M O.

    Please take the time to view our youtubes.

    Dr Robert O. Becker, M.D.
    twice nominated for Nobel Prize of this research.

    “I have no doubt in my mind that at the present time, the greatest
    polluting element in the earth’s environment is the proliferation of
    electromagnetic fields.

    I consider that to be far greater on a global scale, than warming, and
    the increase in chemical elements in the environment.”

  14. rick dubov Says:

    like some of the others of you who have posted here i suffer this incessant brain buzzing and ear ringing 24 hours a day. It is truly unbearable. I actually think that we are not a small minority..i would guess that there are MILLIONS of us. I live in los angeles, but i think you can be affected no matter where you live.

  15. gary Says:

    8/8/2011 Of interest while working on the power lines outside my home, FPL, (FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT), caused our cable television to cycle on/off. According to COMCAST CABLE they had no fault in the incident. my PC was not on, no lights were on in mid-day. I was not using my cell phone. This made it difficult to gauge the extent/type of electrical interruption! Although all electric remained functional for the following three days…there was no “noise”. After an FPL “employee” came to “read the meter”, the noise returned! Directly across the street from us are multiple cell tower installations. I doubt these play a role in the high frequency noise we hear. After viewing the video. The noise example (whooshing), was not the same. If you’re old enough to have heard the sound of steam released from a heating radiator valve, that is more like what we hear! Any new information is very welcome, please reply…….goggo24@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

